Wednesday, October 14, 2009


The 12th Annual L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science Honor Five Exceptional Women Scientists Making Contributions to Better Our Future
Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:33pm EDTThe 12th Annual L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science Honor Five
Exceptional Women Scientists Making Contributions to Better Our Future
NEW YORK, Oct. 14 /PRNewswire/ -- The L'OREAL-UNESCO For Women in Science
partnership today announced the five exceptional women scientists who will
receive the 2010 L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards in the Life Sciences.
An international network of nearly 1,000 scientists nominates the candidates
for the awards and the five Laureates are then selected at a meeting of the
jury, presided over by Professor Gunter Blobel, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1999.
This year, the Laureate for North America is Professor Elaine Fuchs, Rebecca
C. Lancefield Professor of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development at The
Rockefeller University in New York. She is also a Howard Hughes Medical
Institute Investigator. Professor Fuchs was selected for her contributions to
our knowledge of skin biology and skin stem cells. Her research focuses on how
the skin and its hair follicles regenerate and maintain the balance of cell
loss and cell replacement. Professor Fuchs was also recently awarded the
National Medal of Science for her work.
Along with Professor Fuchs, the other 2010 For Women in Science Laureates
recognized for their scientific contributions are:
-- Rashika El Ridi (Africa & the Arab States): Professor at Cairo
University in Egypt, for paving the way towards the development of a
vaccine against the tropical disease Schistomiasis/Bilharzia.
-- Lourdes J. Cruz (Asia-Pacific): Professor at the Marine Science
Institute at the University of the Philippines Diliman in the
Philippines, for the discovery of marine snail toxins that can serve
powerful tools to study brain function.
-- Anne Dejean-Assemat (Europe): Professor at the Pasteur Institute in
France, for her contributions to our understanding of leukemia and
-- Alejandra Bravo (Latin America): Professor at the Institute of
Microbiology of the Universidad Nacional Autonoma in Mexico(UNAM), for her
work on a bacterial toxin that acts as a powerful insecticide.
The awards ceremony honoring the Laureates will take place on March 4, 2010 at
UNESCO Headquarters in Paris. Each Laureate will receive US $100,000 in
recognition of her contribution to the advancement of science.
The 2010 Laureates join an esteemed group of women researchers, including two
2008 L'OREAL-UNESCO Award For Women in Science recipients, Dr. Elizabeth
Blackburn and Dr. Ada Yonath, who were recently named to receive the Nobel
Prizes in Medicine and Chemistry respectively.
A Pioneering Program: Twelve Years of Encouraging Passion and Promoting
Since the launch of the partnership in 1998, L'Oreal and UNESCO have been
actively supporting the cause of women in science. In the context of economic
crisis and the changes within modern society, both partners believe that
today, more than ever, the world needs science. At the heart of this
commitment, L'Oreal and UNESCO are acting to promote women scientists who are
devoting their lives, with courage and passion, to finding solutions to
tomorrow's challenges.
In the past 12 years, 62 Laureates, 150 International Fellows, 700 National
Fellows have been recognized through the For Women in Science program. The
partnership of L'Oreal and UNESCO and the For Women in Science program serve
as a benchmark for international scientific excellence, and an invaluable
source of motivation, support, and inspiration for all women in the sciences.
A Jury Made Up of Eminent Scientists
The 2010 L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards Jury is made up of 18 eminent members of the
international scientific community from five continents, with Professor Gunter
Blobel, winner of the Nobel Prize in Medicine 1999, serving for the third time
as President of the Life Sciences jury. Professor Christian de Duve, Nobel
Prize in Medicine 1974, is the Founding President of the Awards, and Mr.
Koichiro Matsuura, Director-General of UNESCO, is Honorary President.
Professor Blobel said: "For a dozen years, the L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards have
recognized and promoted exceptional women who, by the excellence of their
research, contribute to the advancement of science. As we announce the
Laureates of the 2010 Awards, we are very proud to note that two Laureates of
the 2008 Awards will receive 2009 Nobel Prizes. The L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards
Laureates are among the world's best scientific talents and will serve as role
models for the future of science."
About The L'Oreal Corporate Foundation
The L'Oreal Corporate Foundation, created in 2007, pursues the goal of making
the world a better place each day. It draws on the Group's values and business
to strengthen and perpetuate the Group's commitment to social responsibility.
As the second-largest corporate foundation in France with a multi-annual
budget of euro 40 million, the L'Oreal Foundation is committed to three types
of action: promoting scientific research in the fundamental and human
sciences, supporting education and helping individuals made vulnerable by
alternations to their appearance to reclaim their rightful place in society.
Since its creation in 1945, UNESCO has pursued the mission of promoting
science for peace. Today, UNESCO aims to reinforce international cooperation
in the basic sciences among its 192 Member States and promotes ethical norms
in science. The organization has also been dedicated to eliminating all forms
of discrimination and promoting equality between men and women. As well as
developing educational programs in science particularly designed for girls,
UNESCO has established a network of academic chairs creating links between
women in science around the world.
Dana Ropper, L'Oreal USA, +1-212-984-4742,

No comments:

Post a Comment